Flaw

it was strange writing from a girl’s perspective instead of a guy’s. i think i will stick with being a guy in stories from now on (unless if i’m the omnipresent narrator!). WEIRD. i won’t go into details about the inspiration, but it came from a song (which i don’t know the name of) that i heard yesterday at coffeehouse.  recently found out it’s called “Tragic Flaw” by Sarah Lizotte. (hope she doesn’t mind me putting her name here! yikes!)

To My Flaw,

You look tired. Your eyes half closed. You know what I mean. When your eyelashes are this long (I’m incredibly jealous of them, but you know that already), I guess you can deal with shorter eyelids.

Sleeping. You are sleeping. In my moon chair. The off-white (not dirty, just the normal color) cushion is slipping off but you don’t notice. You are beginning to snore. Lightly at first, and then it gets louder, but then like a dash of salt, it disappears.

You are wearing your blue (azure really) hoodie. You like that one, I know. But I don’t like it when you don’t share it with me because I like it too.

I’m sulking, playing with my fingers and drinking the always too sweet Arizona ice tea. It was on sale, 88 cents instead of 99 cents. I know, I know, it’s really just a ploy to get people to buy more. You don’t need to tell me that. But how can I resist? You know I’m addicted. You know. You told me it was on sale.

I bought four. I only have two left. Crap.

You are snoring again. Your mouth is a little open. Wonder if I can drop anything in there, but on second thought, you probably would not appreciate that. And I don’t want to check anything to see if it has a choking hazard label. But just entertain the idea, wouldn’t it be fun?

Well, I guess at least you don’t drool all over the place. (I’ll admit I do).

You are awake. Kind of. Your eyes are a little more open now. You turn to your side and groan. You are back to sleeping again. Awhf course.

I guess this means I can’t ask you to wash my dishes. Rats.

Flaw

Leave a Reply

